Media Advisory - 2011 National Roadway Safety Awards

U.S. Transportation Deputy Secretary John Porcari Recognizes Nation’s Most Innovative Highway Safety Efforts

What: The Roadway Safety Foundation (RSF) and the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) 2011
National Roadway Safety Awards Recognition Ceremony.

Why: To recognize the best and most innovative safety programs among state highway programs.  With nearly 33,000 fatalities on American roads each year, finding new ways to safeguard motorists and highway workers alike is a national priority.

-     The Honorable John Porcari, Deputy Secretary, U.S. DOT
-    Gregory M. Cohen, P.E, Executive Director, Roadway Safety Foundation

Recipients of the awards for work in the following states:

  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Iowa
  • Florida
  • Utah
  • California
  • New Mexico
  • Massachusetts
  • Pennsylvania
  • Georgia
  • New York
  • Maryland
  • Kansas
  • Texas
  • New Jersey

When: Tuesday, November 15th, Remarks begin at 12:30 p.m

Where: Rayburn House Office Building – Room B-340 – Washington, DC

# # #

ATTN:  Editors
Digital photos of winners receiving their awards can be emailed via request by emailing with “AWARDS PHOTO REQUEST” in the subject line.