About Us

The Roadway Safety Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit educational and charitable organization chartered in 1995 by the American Highway Users Alliance.

The Foundation’s predecessor organization, the Automotive Safety Foundation, dates back to 1937 when it was created by automobile and allied industries to coordinate highway safety activities and place the industry effort on a permanent basis. Later in 1966 The Highway Safety Act of 1966 established the National Highway Program Safety Standards, laying the groundwork for federal-state-private sector partnership in traffic accident reduction.

Since then, RSF has worked with private- and public-sector safety partners to reduce the fatalities attributed to roadway conditions which currently number over 35,000.


Mission Statement

Our mission is to reduce the frequency and severity of motor vehicle crashes, injuries, and fatalities through improvements to roadway systems and their environment. To achieve this, RSF seeks to:

  • Ensure roadway funds are invested in cost-effective safety programs.
  • Facilitate public- and private-sector cooperation in roadway safety initiatives.
  • Publicize the role of roadway safety programs in reducing injuries and fatalities and raise the awareness of roadway safety needs and priorities.

The physical characteristics of America’s roadways can be improved through design and engineering, operating conditions, removal of roadside hazards, and the effective use of safety features. RSF works by building awareness through media campaigns and outreach activities, developing educational materials, and forming roadway safety partnerships between the private and public sectors.

Leadership & Staff

Advisory Committee

An Advisory Committee of public- and private-partners meets throughout the year to guide and oversee programs that support RSF’s mission and goals.

Advisory Committee Leadership

Peter Kissinger, Chairman (retired)

Peter Kissinger was the President & CEO of the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, a position he held from 2002 until 2016.  The AAA Foundation is a not-for-profit affiliate of AAA and the AAA motor clubs that supports research and develops educational products to enhance traffic safety. Prior to joining the AAA Foundation, Kissinger served as Senior Vice President at the Civil Engineering Research Foundation (CERF), an affiliate of the American Society of Civil Engineers. In addition, he spent 12 years with the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB), first as a Safety Specialist and later as Managing Director. Early in his career Kissinger held various positions with the U.S. Coast Guard.

Presently, he serves on the Board of Directors of the International Road Assessment Programme (iRAP), an international road safety organization; as the Chair of the Roadway Safety Foundation's Advisory Committee; on the FIA Foundation Advisory Committee; on the U.S. Department of Transportation's ITS Advisory Committee; and on the Board of the Association Foundation Group (AFG), an organization that serves the not-for profit Foundation community.

Kissinger earned a M.S. in operations research from the George Washington University and a bachelor’s degree in engineering from the U.S. Coast Guard Academy.

Anthony R. (Tony) Giancola, P.E., Secretary (retired)

Anthony R. (Tony) Giancola, P.E., former Executive Director of the National Association of County Engineers (NACE), was unanimously elected as the new Secretary of the Roadway Safety Foundation Advisory Committee in February 2008.  Tony has been an active member of the RSF Advisory Committee since its inception in 1995.  He has also served as a judge of the joint RSF/Federal Highway Administration National Roadway Safety Awards Program every year since its inception.

Member Organizations of Advisory Committee

Interested in becoming involved on the Advisory Committee?  Contact us for more info.

(Representation on the committee is available only to contributing members. Not a member? Learn more about membership.)

RSF Staff

Gregory M. Cohen, P.E., Executive Director

As President and CEO of the American Highway Users Alliance, the organization that chartered the Roadway Safety Foundation, Greg Cohen also serves as the Foundation’s Executive Director. Prior to joining The Highway Users in July 2002, Greg served as a professional staff member of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee on the Highways and Transit Subcommittee where he was responsible for oversight of the Federal Highway Administration’s implementation of the1998 highway bill, TEA 21. As a licensed Professional Engineer, Greg’s primary role on the Committee was to provide policy assistance in areas of highway planning, engineering, and construction. Cohen worked on legislation to eliminate highway funding cuts and streamline environmental reviews and coordinated oversight hearings that laid the policy groundwork for the 2005 highway bill, “SAFETEA-LU”. Before joining the Committee, he served as a Highway Engineer with the Maryland State Highway Administration where he managed capital project planning studies for major highway and multimodal projects. Greg has a Bachelors of Science in Civil Engineering and Master of Engineering in Transportation Engineering and Planning from the University of Maryland at College Park.

Phone: 202.857.1228; info@roadwaysafety.org

Bruce Hamilton, Director of Safety and Research Programs

As RSF’s Director of Safety and Research Programs since October 2014, Bruce Hamilton is responsible for developing and managing programs that promote safer road design and educating road users.  Hamilton shares best practices with transportation officials and community leaders to aid in reducing traffic fatalities through infrastructure enhancements. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in International Relations from Tufts University and is currently working on his Master of Public Health degree from the George Washington University's Milken Institute.  Hamilton previously worked at the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, the U.S. State Department's Foreign Service Institute, and as a Program Assistant here at RSF, during which time he wrote the current version of the Roadway Safety Guide.

Phone: 202.857.1228; brucehamilton@roadwaysafety.org


RSF’s programs are funded by grants, sponsorships, membership contributions, and donations from others who share the Foundation’s life saving mission.

To make a 100% tax deductible contribution to RSF

Donate here